History and Eat, Speak, Italian Program in Verona

Explore the history, culture, and cuisine of Verona, Italy with Professors Rala Diakite and Dan Sarefield
Students in Verona

****This program is now full. No more applications will be accepted.*****

Students must be vaccinated by university policy, provider policy and international travel entrance requirements.

Payments are non-refundable.

Eat, Speak, Italian

3 credits

  • Old LA&S Designations: Global Diversity(GD) and Citizen of the World (CTW)
  • New General Education: WLSL World language speaking and listening, and DP diverse perspectives

HIST 3001 Life in the Roman City

3 credits

  • Old LA&S Designations: CTW, GDC, HIST, HI
  • New General Education: HI and IHIP (Study Abroad)

This program will consist of classroom time during the day followed by city tours in the afternoon. Students will tour Verona in their classes through a historical lens, diving into the history of Roman influence in the region. Students will also be led by their professors to different open air markets, restaurants, and cafes to learn about Italian food, culture, and language. In addition to Verona, this program will also have excursions to Sirmione beach, Venice, and Florence. 

May 21, 2022 - June 18, 2022

Program price* $3900

Includes airfare, accommodations, insurance, orientations, on the ground transportation, excursions, some meals, and more.
Does not include personal expenses, SGOC undergraduate summer course expenses 

3 credits= $963.00 - One Course
6 credits= $1,926.00 - Both Courses (Eat, Speak, Italian and Life in the Roman City)

See Tuition and Fees for more information - Payment due at time of summer registration, March/April 2022

Payment schedule

First Payment: February 5, 2022
$1000 (nonrefundable)
Second payment: March 4, 2022
$1,450
Third payment: April 4, 2022
$1,450
*Price subject to change. 

Scholarships

Students applying for the Verona Summer Program should apply to the CIC/AVGC Scholarship that opens in Academic Works starting October 2021.

Highlights

The highlights of this study abroad experience include a trip to Sirmione and the beach, a day trip to Venice, and two days in Florence. You will have classes in the morning and free time in the afternoon. There will be cultural activities for you to do with your professors. There will also be plenty of free days for you to enjoy Italy as you choose.

Itinerary (subject to change)

Saturday, May 21

Depart Boston at 5:45 p.m. on Aer Lingus flight 132 (layover in Dublin)

Sunday, May 22

Arrive Milan Linate at 10:35 a.m.

Monday, May 23 Health, Safety and Culture Orientation
Tuesday, May 24 Classes begin
Wednesday, May 25                        Classes
Thursday, May 26 Classes
Friday, May 27 Padua - Scrovegni Chapel, followed by Il Bo Palace
Train departure from Verona 9:22am – arrival in Padua 10:20 a.m.
11:45 a.m. Scrovegni Chapel
2:30 p.m. University IL BO
Train departure from Padua 6:40 p.m. – arrival in Verona 7:38 p.m.
Saturday, May 28 Free day
Sunday, May 29 Free day
Monday, May 30 Classes
Tuesday, May 31 Sirmione - Grotto of Catullo & free time at the lake
Bus departure from Verona 9:30 a.m.
11:30am visit to the Grotto of Catullo
Free day at the lake
Bus departure from Sirmione 5:30 p.m.
Wednesday, June 1 Classes
Thursday, June 2 Republic Day. No classes or trips.
Friday, June 3 Classes
Saturday, June 4 Free day
Sunday, June 5 Free day
Monday, June 6 Classes
Tuesday, June 7 Overnight trip (Florence) 
Train departure from Verona 9:37 a.m.
Wednesday, June 8 Overnight trip (Florence)
Train departure from Firenze 7:36 p.m.
Thursday, June 9 Classes
Friday, June 10 Cooking class
Departure from San Fermo Church 2:15 p.m. – we walk to la Soffritta
Saturday, June 11 Free day
Sunday, June 12 Free day
Monday, June 13 Classes
Tuesday, June 14 Trip to cheese factory, followed by olive oil factory
Bus departure from Verona 8:30 a.m.
9:30 a.m. visit to the Cheese factory and tasting
2:30 p.m. visit to the olive oil factory and tasting
Departure 5 p.m.
Wednesday, June 15 Classes
Thursday, June 16 Bolzano
Train departure from Verona 9 a.m. – arrival in Bolzano 10:31 a.m.
Train departure from Bolzano 6:31 p.m. – arrival in Verona 8:14 p.m.
Friday, June 17 Classes
Saturday, June 18 Depart Venice at 12:15 p.m. on Aer Lingus flight 423 (layover in Dublin). Depart Dublin at 4:45 p.m. on Aer Lingus flight 137.
Arrive Boston at 6:55 p.m.

Questions? Get in Touch!