Vincent J. Mara Excellence in Teaching Award | Fitchburg State University
Skip to main content

Fitchburg State uses technology to gather information and better understand visitors’ experiences. By continuing to use this website, you consent to this usage in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Vincent J. Mara Excellence in Teaching Award

Established in 1989 by the Alumni Association to honor former university President Vincent J. Mara, this award recognizes faculty who have contributed with distinction to the University’s mission of providing superior undergraduate teaching. Awardees have demonstrated a sustained excellence in teaching, a notable impact on student learning, and a dedication to innovative instruction. The recipients are the foundation of the University’s quest to educate future generations.

All full-time, tenured members, who have served a minimum of 10 years as a Fitchburg State University faculty member, are eligible to receive the $3,000 award and citation presented annually at a recognition celebration in May.

Nominate an Outstanding Professor!

All alumni, faculty, librarians, staff, and students are encouraged to submit a nomination. Nominations should be in the form of a letter addressed to the Vincent J. Mara Award Selection Committee and sent to Nomination letters must include a brief statement of rationale for the nomination and should emphasize the nominee's excellence in teaching. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Nominations must be submitted to
Nominations are due by December 7, 2020.

For questions concerning full-time or tenure status, please contact Human Resources.

Nominees will be notified of their nomination and must electronically submit their materials no later than January 18, 2021.

Selection Criteria

  • Professional practice
  • Student or alumni evaluation
  • Community engagement
  • Advocacy for the profession
  • Scholarship and research
  • Commitment to the campus community

Selection Committee

  • President of the Alumni Association
  • Director of Alumni Relations
  • Student Government Association representative
  • A member of the Mara family
  • All past Mara Award recipients who are currently teaching at Fitchburg State University

2020 Vincent J. Mara Excellence in Teaching Award, Dr. Paul Weizer

Past Honorees

2019 - Randy Howe
2018 - Beth Walsh 
2017 - Kelly Morgan
2016 - Meledath Govindan
2015 - Benjamin Railton
2014 - Sean Goodlett
2013 - Joshua Spero
2012 - George Bohrer
2011 - Howard Thomas
2010 - Jane Fiske
2009 - Christine Cosgrove
2008 - Peter Laytin
2007 - John Paul
2006 - Eric Budd
2005 - Gerald Higdon
2004 - Louis Zivic
2003 - Barbara Cammuso
2002 - Thomas Battinelli
2001 - Maria Jaramillo
2000 - Andrea Wallen
1999 - Edmund Thomas
1998 - Lee Cunningham
1997 - Robert Champlin