Liberal Arts and Sciences Council

Group of students

The Liberal Arts and Sciences Council is a body appointed by the All University Committee (AUC) and charged by the administration to research, plan, and implement alterations to the Liberal Arts and Sciences program. While it has no authority to authorize policy, it recommends policy to the AUC. As part of the course approval process, the LAS Council makes recommendations concerning LAS requests for courses—whether a course should receive cluster approval or broad LAS approval. However, it is ultimately the responsibility of the AUC Curriculum Committee and of the AUC itself to approve LAS course requests. It is also part of the Council's responsibilities to plan and implement the assessment process for the LAS core program.

LAS Past Issues

LAS Redesign Process

About the LAS Program

2018-19 Liberal Arts and Sciences Council Membership

  • Jennifer Berg
  • Chris Cratsley (co-chair)
  • Rala Diakite
  • Emma Downs
  • Elizabeth Gordon
  • Lynne Kellner
  • Michael Lee
  • Benjamin Lieberman
  • Christa Marr
  • Joann Nichols
  • Robert Shapiro
  • David Svolba
  • Elisabet Takehana
  • Kisha Tracy (co-chair)
  • Danielle Wigmore
  • Franca Barricelli 
  • Bruno Hicks
  • Sean Goodlett
  • Pam McCafferty
  • John Schaumloffel

AUC Approval Documents

LAS Self-Study Process