Graduate Program Award | Fitchburg State University
Skip to main content

Fitchburg State uses technology to gather information and better understand visitors’ experiences. By continuing to use this website, you consent to this usage in accordance with our Privacy Policy.


Graduate Program Award

Purpose of Award

This award recognizes graduate faculty who have a sustained record of teaching, mentoring, and advising graduate students. These faculty awardees have demonstrated a remarkable generosity and commitment to fostering the intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional growth of students who are pursuing the University's highest academic degrees, and nurture a community of intellectual engagement in which they thrive.


A faculty member or emeriti faculty who has made significant contributions to the graduate programs at Fitchburg State University.

Application Procedure

To apply for this prestigious award or nominate a faculty member or faculty emeriti, address a letter of application/nomination to the Graduate and Continuing Education office detailing the basis for the application/nomination. Letters should describe the candidate’s contributions through one or more of the following: graduate course teaching, program leadership, curriculum development, student advising and mentorship, research, and community partnerships.

Application and Nomination Deadline: December 2, 2019
Submission of Supporting Materials Deadline: January 13, 2020

Note: Letter of application/nomination and supporting materials are preferred electronically.

If you have any questions, please email Sonya Prince at

Description of the Award

The Graduate Program Award will consist of a $3000 check, a campus parking space for one year, acknowledgement in the May commencement program, and recognition at the annual faculty awards event in May.

Composition of the Award Committee

Applications are reviewed by the Academic Affairs Team (Provost and Deans) and their recommendation is then submitted to the President for final approval.

2019 Graduate Program Award Winner, Professor Joe McAloon

Past Honorees

2018 - Dr. John Hancock
2017 - Dr. Chola Chisunka
2016 - Dr. Nancy Murray
2015 - Dr. Harry Semerjian
2014 - Dr. Anne Howard
2013 - Dr. Richard Spencer
2012 - Dr. Elaine Francis
2011 - Dr. Michele Zide
2010 - Dr. Rosemarie Giovino

If you have any questions, please email Sonya Prince at