Graduate Program Award

Portrait of Professor Daniel Sarefield
Portrait of Professor Daniel Sarefield

Graduate students are excited about history and self-motivated in a way that makes them a pleasure to work with.

Daniel Sarefield
Winner of the 2023 Contributions to the Graduate Program Award

Purpose of Award

This award recognizes graduate faculty who have a sustained record of teaching, mentoring, and advising graduate students. These faculty awardees have demonstrated a remarkable generosity and commitment to fostering the intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional growth of students who are pursuing the University's highest academic degrees, and nurture a community of intellectual engagement in which they thrive.


A faculty member or emeriti faculty who has made significant contributions to the graduate programs at Fitchburg State University. Previous recipients will not be eligible for a period of five years.

Application Procedure

To apply for this prestigious award, address a letter of application to the School of Graduate, Online and Continuing Education detailing the basis for the application/nomination. Letters should describe the candidate’s contributions through one or more of the following: graduate course teaching, program leadership, curriculum development, student advising and mentorship, research, and community partnerships. If you wish to nominate a faculty member, address a letter of nomination; nominees will be notified of their nomination and must submit supporting materials.

  • Application and Nomination Deadline: December 1, 2023
  • Submission of Supporting Materials Deadline: January 16, 2024

Note: Letter of application/nomination and supporting materials are preferred electronically.

If you have any questions, please email Becky Copper Glenz

Description of the Award

The Graduate Program Award will consist of a $3000 check, a campus parking space for one year, acknowledgement in the May commencement program, and recognition at the annual faculty awards event in May.

Composition of the Award Committee

Applications are reviewed by a committee made up of past Graduate Program Award recipients, the Dean of Graduate, Online and Continuing Education, and the Provost. The committee's recommendation is submitted to the President for final approval.


  • 2023 - Daniel Sarefield (read more)
  • 2022 - Brady Chen
  • 2021 - James Alicata
  • 2020 - Daneen Deptula
  • 2019 - Joe McAloon
  • 2018 - John Hancock
  • 2017 - Chola Chisunka
  • 2016 - Nancy Murray
  • 2015 - Harry Semerjian
  • 2014 - Anne Howard
  • 2013 - Richard Spencer
  • 2012 - Elaine Francis
  • 2011 - Michele Zide
  • 2010 - Rosemarie Giovino

If you have any questions, please email Becky Copper Glenz.