Skip to main content

Liberal Arts & Sciences

The Liberal Arts and Sciences Council is a body appointed by the All University Committee (AUC) and charged by the administration to research, plan and implement alterations to the Liberal Arts and Sciences program. While it has no authority to authorize policy, it recommends policy to the AUC. As part of the course approval process, the LA&S Council makes recommendations concerning LA&S requests for courses—whether a course should receive cluster approval or broad LA&S approval. However, it is ultimately the responsibility of the AUC Curriculum Committee and of the AUC itself to approve LA&S course requests. It is also part of the Council's responsibilities to plan and implement the assessment process for the LA&S core program.

2016-2017 Liberal Arts and Sciences Council membership

Jennifer Berg
Emma Downs
Elizabeth Gordon
Peter Hogan
Michael Lee
Benjamin Lieberman
Sarah Moore
Joann Nichols
Christopher Picone
David Svolba
Elisabet Takehana
Jason Talanian
Kisha Tracy
Paul Weizer
Robert Shapiro

LA&S Self-Study Process

AUC Approval Documents

Other Resources