Students nominated for Kennedy Center theater awards

December 10, 2020
Poster for "Our Reckoning," fall 2020 theater production

There’s an old expression in the theater: the show must go on! That attitude fueled Fitchburg State University’s Communications Media Department this fall, where even the challenges posed by the global pandemic couldn’t extinguish the creative spark.

The result was “Our Reckoning,” composed of a series of monologues about the pressing issues of the day, and presented virtually this fall. Now, numerous members of the cast and crew have been nominated for the prestigious Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival awards, including a special recognition to the student writers for their original work.

The full program was directed by Professor Mary Vreeland with technical direction from Professor Cap Corduan.

Professor Kelly Morgan said the videos will be augmented in the spring with new elements that could not be filmed this fall.

Nominees for the Kennedy Center awards include:

Irene Ryan Acting Awards

  • Josyvins Thelusma of Methuen (sophomore)
  • Eliana West of Danielson, Conn. (senior)
  • Deliciana Montoya of Leominster (senior)
  • Fernando Santiago of Merrimack, NH (senior)

Stage Manager

  • Kayla Jorgensen of Hyannis (sophomore)

Costume Design

  • Kelina Smith

Sound Design - Certificate of Merit

  • James Belair of Holden (senior)

Light Design - Certificate of Merit

  • Fouad Nasr of Stoneham (senior)