New members inducted into mathematics honor society

April 8, 2021
Photo of 2021 inductees to math honors society
Photo of 2021 inductees to math honors society

The Mathematics Department hosted a virtual induction ceremony for the Massachusetts Eta Chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon (PME) national mathematics honor society. 

Twelve students were inducted into the society, the most since the charter ceremony in 2007.

The induction was organized by Assistant Professor Rachael Norton (the chapter advisor) and co-hosted by Professor Mary Ann Barbato.  Mathematics faculty members spoke about each of the inductees before they made their pledge.  The ceremony ended with a presentation, "An Examination of Model Fidelity – When time is of the essence," by Fitchburg State math alumnus Charlie Fisher, who is also a Massachusetts Eta PME member. Fisher is now a senior mathematician at Applied Research Associates.

Chapters of Pi Mu Epsilon may be chartered only at academic institutions whose standards are excellent in all the liberal arts and particularly so in mathematics. 

Fitchburg State’s Massachusetts Eta Chapter of PME was established in Fall 2007 after a detailed application and approval process and was the third public institution in Massachusetts to establish a PME chapter. Massachusetts Eta PME members have given presentations at conferences, including PME national meetings at MathFest and have also participated in math contests, problem solving sessions and other activities. New Massachusetts Eta PME members will be given the opportunity to attend and present at this year’s PME meeting, to be held virtually in August.