NECHE 2020-2022 Accreditation | Fitchburg State University
Skip to main content

Fitchburg State uses technology to gather information and better understand visitors’ experiences. By continuing to use this website, you consent to this usage in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

NECHE 2020-2022 Accreditation

Timeline | Committee Membership | Resources | Campus Communications | Contact


University Seal

Welcome to the 2020-2022 NECHE Self Study web page. Fitchburg State University is currently engaged in a process of self-study as part of a comprehensive evaluation
conducted every ten years as required by the Commission. This comprehensive
evaluation includes our self-study report, an on-site evaluation in spring 2022 by a
group of peers and finally a review and decision on our accreditation status by the Commission. This site provides an overview of the process and will be regularly updated with documents and information allowing the university community and public to understand and fully participate in the accreditation process.

Fitchburg State University is accredited by the New England Commission of Higher
Education (NECHE). NECHE is the regional accreditation agency for colleges and
universities in the six New England states: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New
Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Led by Dr. Lawrence Schall, the commission is
comprised of faculty, administrators, and trustees from member colleges and
universities, as well as public members. NECHE’s purpose is to foster the improvement
of universities and serve the public in assuring the quality of institutions of higher
education. The Commission is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the
Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).


The attached timeline lays out the accreditation review process, starting in 2020 with the appointment of committees around the accreditation standards and culminating with a team visit in March 2022.

Committee Membership

Standard 1: Mission and Purpose
Standard 2: Planning and Evaluation
Standard 3: Organization and Governance

  • Christian Estrella, Assistant Vice President, Financial Services, Co-Chair
  • DeMisty Bellinger-Delfeld, Associate Professor, English Studies, Co-Chair
  • Meg Hoey, Dean of Health & Natural Sciences
  • Jason Miles, Director of Education Unit Accountability & Licensure
  • Ian Murray, Laboratory Technician
  • Jeffrey Wolfman, Vice President for Institutional Advancement
  • John Crawley, Assistant Professor, Business Administration
  • Rala Diakite, Professor, Humanities
  • Akwasi Duah, Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Jeffrey Godin, Professor, Exercise and Sports Science

Standard 4: The Academic Program

  • Becky Copper-Glenz, Dean, School of Online, Graduate and Continuing Education, Co-Chair
  • Elizabeth Gordon, Professor, Earth & Geographic Sciences, Co-Chair
  • Melisa Alves, Director, Career Counseling & Advising Center
  • Franca Barricelli, Dean, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Linda Dupell, Registrar
  • Drew Goodwin, Coordinator of Early College and Dual Enrollment
  • Lisa Moison, Associate Dean, School of Graduate, Online and Continuing Education
  • Timothy Hilliard, Professor, Exercise & Sports Science
  • Aruna Krishnamurthy, Professor, English Studies
  • Renee Scapparone, Professor, Business Administration
  • Daniel Welsh, Associate Professor, Biology
  • Hong Yu, Assistant Professor, Engineering Technology

Standard 5: Students

  • Hank Parkinson, Associate Dean of Student Development, Co-Chair
  • Eric Williams, Assistant Professor, Biology, Co-Chair
  • Kat McLellan, Director, Academic Coaching and Tutoring Center
  • Jinawa McNeil, Director of Admissions
  • Lauren O'Brien, Associate Director, Counseling Services
  • Heather Ruland, Director of Student Accounts
  • Melissa Dunn, Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Rose Kronziah-Seme, Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Lori Steckervetz, Assistant Librarian, Library

Standard 6: Teaching, Learning, and Scholarship

  • Nancy Murray, Professor, Education, Co-Chair
  • Eric Budd, Professor, Economics, History and Political Science, Co-Chair
  • Nicole Chelonis, Director of Digital Learning
  • Mary Beth McKenzie, Associate Vice President, Finance & Administration
  • Kimberly Page, Director of Human Resources
  • Jason Smith, Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
  • Cheryl Armstrong, Associate Professor, Psychological Science
  • Jon Krasner, Professor, Communications Media
  • Nirajan Mani, Assistant Professor, Engineering Technology
  • Connie Strittmatter, Associate Librarian, Library
  • Kisha Tracy, Associate Professor, English Studies

Standard 7: Institutional Resources

  • Jacalyn Kremer, Dean, Library, Co-Chair
  • Robert Shapiro, Assistant Professor, Education, Co-Chair
  • Jay Bry, Vice President for Finance & Administration
  • Laura Croteau, Building Services Manager, Housing & Residential Services
  • Jessica Murdoch, Associate Vice President for Human Resources
  • Steve Swartz, Chief Technology Officer
  • Soumitra Basu, Assistant Professor, Engineering Technology
  • Asher Jackson, Associate Librarian, Library
  • Ronald Krieser, Associate Professor, Biology
  • Denise Simion, Assistant Professor, Business Administration

Standard 8: Educational Effectiveness

  • Cate Kaluzny, Director of Assessment, Institutional Research and Planning, Co-Chair
  • J.J. Sylvia IV, Assistant Professor, Communications Media, Co-Chair
  • Laura Bayless, Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Dani Langdon, Assistant Director, Center for Professional Studies
  • Elizabeth Swartz, Interim Director, TRIO Student Support Services
  • Susan Beddes, Academic and Career Advisor, Career Services and Advising Center
  • Chris Cratsley, Professor, Biology
  • Emma Downs, Assistant Professor, Chemistry
  • Sean Goodlett, Professor, Economics, History and Political Science
  • Frank Mabee, Associate Professor, English Studies

Standard 9: Integrity, Transparency, and Public Disclosure

  • Kristin Murphy, Director of Title IX Compliance, Human Resources & Payroll Services, Co-Chair
  • Jannette McMenamy, Professor, Psychological Science, Co-Chair
  • Carin Bullis, Director of Budgeting, Financial Services
  • Sherry Horeanopoulos, Information Security Officer, Information Technology
  • Christopher Medley, Director, Housing and Residential Services
  • Marilyn Siderwicz, Executive Director, Marketing and Integrated Communications
  • Randall Grometstein, Professor, Behavioral Sciences
  • Linda LeBlanc, Librarian, Library
  • Nellipher Mchenga, Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Josh Spero, Professor, Economics, History and Political Science



NECHE Standards for Accreditation

NEASC 5th Year Report

NEASC Self-Study (2012)

Accreditation Presentation, Sept. 1, 2020


Campus Communications




Contact NECHE Self Study Co-Chairs Cathy Canney, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, and Daneen Deptula, Professor of Psychological Science, at