Skip to main content

Spring Break, Spain

IDIS2550 Art & Culture of Spain, 3 cr, (ART, GDA), no pre-requisites

This course, taught in English, is designed to provide students with knowledge and understanding of Spain’s art, culture and history. This course meets throughout the spring semester with students touring parts of Eastern and Central Spain, including Barcelona, Madrid (Girona, Figueres, Valencia…) during Spring Break. The course consists of lectures and discussion with a final presentation after returning from Spain.

Professor: Keyvan Karbasioun

If you would like to apply to this program, click here.

Sample itinerary (subject to change) :

Friday, March 9 – Depart Boston

Saturday, March 10 – Arrive Barcelona. Late afternoon/early evening walking tour.

Sunday, March 11 – See Barcelona, including La Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell, etc

Monday, March 12 – Day trip to Girona and Figueres.

Tuesday, March 13 – Free day to explore Barcelona. Valencia at night (5:30pm train).

Wednesday, March 14  – Tour Valencia.

Thursday, March 15 – Free day to explore Valencia. Train to Madrid around 6pm.

Friday, March 16 – Tour Madrid in the morning (Sol, Plaza Mayor, Prado).  Afternoon tour at Palacio Real.

Saturday, March 17 – Free day to explore in Madrid

Sunday, March 18 – Fly back to Boston

Travel dates

(*approximate until tickets are purchased)

Depart Boston: March 9, 2018

Depart Madrid: March18, 2018

Program Fees $2800
Fees include... Airfare, housing, local transportation, excursions, insurance, academic visits, lectures, and airport transfers.
Fees do not include... Meals, cost of GCE course,spending money
Payment Schedule

Payment #1: December 8, 2017: $1000

Final Payment: January 22, 2018: $1800


After January 22, 2018 all fees for this program are non-refundable.