Skip to main content

Fitchburg State uses technology to gather information and better understand visitors’ experiences. By continuing to use this website, you consent to this usage in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Administration - Faculty & Staff

Fitchburg State's Center for Excellence in Education logo

Bruno G. Hicks, Ed.D.
Dean of Education

(978) 665-3530
FAX: (978) 665-3614

Jason Miles, M.Ed.
Director of Education Unit Accountability and Licensure

(978) 665-3292
FAX: (978) 665-3614

Lourdes Ramirez
Field Placement, Partnership, and Recruitment Coordinator

(978) 665-3685
FAX: (978) 665-3614

Sandra Herndon
Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Education,
Director of Education Unit Accountability and Licensure,
and Field Placement, Partnership and Recruitment Coordinator

(978) 665-3239
FAX: (978) 665-3614

Education Department
Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle School, and Special Education

Denise Sargent, Ed.D.
Chair, Education Department

Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3995

Lyndsey Benharris, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Early Childhood Graduate Chair

(978) 665-3539

William Cortezia, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Middle School Graduate Chair
Middle School/Secondary Program Chair

(978) 665-3489

Lynn D'Agostino

(978) 665-3341

Danette Day, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3695

Karen DeAngelis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 

(978) 665-3516

Felicia Farron-Davis, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-4030

Janna Heiligenstein, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3477

Anne Howard, Ph.D.
Chair, Graduate Program in Special Education (Severe Disabilities and Guided Studies)

(978) 665-3309

Ruth Joseph, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
Reading Specialist Graduate Chair

(978) 665-3899

Laurie Link, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3310

Betty Mulrey, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3771

Nancy Murray, Ed.D.
Chair, Graduate Program in Special Education (Moderate Disabilities) Project Director - Meeting the Challenge

(978) 665-3770

Joann Nichols, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3371

Robert Shapiro, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3511

Annette Sullivan, Ed.D.
Elementary Graduate Chair

(978) 665-3717

Scott Tyner, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3771

Carolyn Hughes
Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3193

Lael Lavery
Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3308

Secondary Education Programs
English, History, Math and Biology

George Babich, Ph.D.
Chair, MA/MAT Program in Biology; Chair M.Ed. Program in Science Education

(978) 665-3245

Laura Baker, Ph.D.
Co-Chair, MA/MAT in History
Secondary Education Coordinator
Associate Professor

(978) 665-3397

Nermin Bayazit
Assistant Professor of Mathematics

(978) 665-3475

Chola Chisunka, Ph.D.
English Professor

(978) 665-3445

Katharine Covino-Poutasse
Assistant Professor of English

(978) 665-3751

Lisa Grimm
Chair, MAT Program in English
Assistant Professor of

(978) 665-3334

Wendy Keyser
Assistant Professor of English

(978) 665-3983

Erin MacNeal Rehrig, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology

(978) 665-3982

Diane Lucas

Administrative Assistant

Jean Varchol
Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3267

(978) 665-3393

Carla McGrath

Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3397

Ann Larsen

Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3263

Melissa J. Barrette

Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3246

Technology Education Programs

James Alicata, Ed.D.

(978) 665-3047

Wayne Whitfield, Ph.D.
Supervising Faculty

(978) 665-4807

Susan Sheridan

(978) 665-3585

Diane Whitham
Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3047
FAX (978) 665-4435

M.Ed. in Curriculum & Teaching

Richard Masciarelli, M.Ed.
Chair, Curriculum & Teaching

(508) 331-7179

Elizabeth Lavin
Program Coordinator, Lowell Program

Educational Leadership and Management Programs
(M.Ed. and C.A.G.S.):
School Principal, Supervisor/Director, and Technology Leader


Guidance Counseling Program

Daneen Deptula
Chair, Graduate Guidance Counseling Program,
Associate Professor of Behavioral Sciences

(978) 665-3603

Megan Krell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Behavioral Sciences

(978) 665-3243

McKay Arts Academy and Teacher Education Center


Tara Rolf
Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3188

Center for Professional Studies and Extended Campus Programs

Lisa Moison
Director of Extended Campus and Professional Studies

(978) 665-3345

Dani Langdon

(978) 665-4122

Tracy McGrath
Administrative Assistant
Center for Professional Studies

(978) 665-3636
FAX: (978) 665-3639

Cathy Montague
Administrative Assistant
Extended Campus Programs

(978) 665-3794