Skip to main content

Fitchburg State uses technology to gather information and better understand visitors’ experiences. By continuing to use this website, you consent to this usage in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Administration - Faculty & Staff

Fitchburg State's Center for Excellence in Education logo

Bruno G. Hicks, Ed.D.
Dean of Education

(978) 665-3530
bhicks5@fitchburgstate.edu
FAX: (978) 665-3614

Jason Miles, M.Ed.
Director of Education Unit Accountability and Licensure

(978) 665-3292
jmiles6@fitchburgstate.edu
FAX: (978) 665-3614

Lourdes Ramirez
Field Placement, Partnership, and Recruitment Coordinator

(978) 665-3685
lramire1@fitchburgstate.edu
FAX: (978) 665-3614

Sandra Herndon
Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Education,
Director of Education Unit Accountability and Licensure,
and Field Placement, Partnership and Recruitment Coordinator

(978) 665-3239
sherndon@fitchburgstate.edu
FAX: (978) 665-3614

Education Department
Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle School, and Special Education

Denise Sargent, Ed.D.
Chair, Education Department

Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3995
dlafranc@fitchburgstate.edu

Lyndsey Benharris, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Early Childhood Graduate Chair

(978) 665-3539
lbenharr@fitchburgstate.edu

William Cortezia, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Middle School Graduate Chair
Middle School/Secondary Program Chair

(978) 665-3489
wcortezi@fitchburgstate.edu

Lynn D'Agostino
 

(978) 665-3341
ldagosti@fitchburgstate.edu

Danette Day, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
 

(978) 665-3695
dday@fitchburgstate.edu

Karen DeAngelis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 

(978) 665-3516
kdeange3@fitchburgstate.edu

Felicia Farron-Davis, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-4030
ffarrondavis@fitchburgstate.edu

Janna Heiligenstein, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3477
jheilige@fitchburgstate.edu

Anne Howard, Ph.D.
Chair, Graduate Program in Special Education (Severe Disabilities and Guided Studies)

(978) 665-3309
anhoward@fitchburgstate.edu

Ruth Joseph, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
Reading Specialist Graduate Chair

(978) 665-3899
rjoseph@fitchburgstate.edu

Laurie Link, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3310
llink@fitchburgstate.edu

Betty Mulrey, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3771
bmulrey@fitchburgstate.edu

Nancy Murray, Ed.D.
Chair, Graduate Program in Special Education (Moderate Disabilities) Project Director - Meeting the Challenge

(978) 665-3770
nmurray5@fitchburgstate.edu

Joann Nichols, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3371
jnicho21@fitchburgstate.edu

Robert Shapiro, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3511
rshapir3@fitchburgstate.edu

Annette Sullivan, Ed.D.
Professor
Elementary Graduate Chair

(978) 665-3717
asulli15@fitchburgstate.edu

Scott Tyner, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor

(978) 665-3771
styner@fitchburgstate.edu

Carolyn Hughes
Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3193
chughes@fitchburgstate.edu

Lael Lavery
Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3308
llavery@fitchburgstate.edu

Secondary Education Programs
English, History, Math and Biology

George Babich, Ph.D.
Chair, MA/MAT Program in Biology; Chair M.Ed. Program in Science Education

(978) 665-3245
gbabich@fitchburgstate.edu

Laura Baker, Ph.D.
Co-Chair, MA/MAT in History
Secondary Education Coordinator
Associate Professor

(978) 665-3397
lebaker@fitchburgstate.edu

Nermin Bayazit
Assistant Professor of Mathematics

(978) 665-3475
nbayazit@fitchburgstate.edu

Chola Chisunka, Ph.D.
English Professor

(978) 665-3445
cchisunka@fitchburgstate.edu

Katharine Covino-Poutasse
Assistant Professor of English

(978) 665-3751
kcovinop@fitchburgstate.edu

Lisa Grimm
Chair, MAT Program in English
Assistant Professor of
Biology/Chemistry

(978) 665-3334
lgrimm1@fitchburgstate.edu

Wendy Keyser
Assistant Professor of English

(978) 665-3983
wkeyser@fitchburgstate.edu

Erin MacNeal Rehrig, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology

(978) 665-3982
erehrig@fitchburgstate.edu

ENGLISH
Diane Lucas

Administrative Assistant

Jean Varchol
Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3267
dlucas@fitchburgstate.edu

(978) 665-3393
jvarchol@fitchburgstate.edu

HISTORY
Carla McGrath

Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3397
cmcgrath@fitchburgstate.edu

MATHEMATICS
Ann Larsen

Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3263
alarsen2@fitchburgstate.edu

BIOLOGY
Melissa J. Barrette

Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3246
mbarrette@fitchburgstate.edu

Technology Education Programs

James Alicata, Ed.D.
Chair

(978) 665-3047
jalicata@fitchburgstate.edu

Wayne Whitfield, Ph.D.
Supervising Faculty

(978) 665-4807
wwhitfield@fitchburgstate.edu

Susan Sheridan
Instructor

(978) 665-3585
ssheridan@fitchburgstate.edu

Diane Whitham
Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3047
dwhitham@fitchburgstate.edu
FAX (978) 665-4435

M.Ed. in Curriculum & Teaching

Richard Masciarelli, M.Ed.
Chair, Curriculum & Teaching

(508) 331-7179
rmasciar@fitchburgstate.edu

Elizabeth Lavin
Program Coordinator, Lowell Program

elavin@fitchburgstate.edu

Educational Leadership and Management Programs
(M.Ed. and C.A.G.S.):
School Principal, Supervisor/Director, and Technology Leader

   

Guidance Counseling Program

Daneen Deptula
Chair, Graduate Guidance Counseling Program,
Associate Professor of Behavioral Sciences

(978) 665-3603
ddeptula@fitchburgstate.edu

Megan Krell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Behavioral Sciences

(978) 665-3243
mkrell@fitchburgstate.edu

McKay Arts Academy and Teacher Education Center

   

Tara Rolf
Administrative Assistant

(978) 665-3188
trolf@fitchburgstate.edu

Center for Professional Studies and Extended Campus Programs

Lisa Moison
Director of Extended Campus and Professional Studies

(978) 665-3345
lmoison@fitchburgstate.edu

Dani Langdon
Coordinator

(978) 665-4122
dlangdon@fitchburgstate.edu

Tracy McGrath
Administrative Assistant
Center for Professional Studies

(978) 665-3636
tmcgrat3@fitchburgstate.edu
FAX: (978) 665-3639

Cathy Montague
Administrative Assistant
Extended Campus Programs

(978) 665-3794
cmontague@fitchburgstate.edu