Skip to main content

Fitchburg State uses technology to gather information and better understand visitors’ experiences. By continuing to use this website, you consent to this usage in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

ALFA Board of Directors

ALFA is governed by a 25 member Board of Directors, which includes the following:

  • A five member executive committee;
  • A Fitchburg State University liaison;
  • Associate members who advance ALFA’s goals by serving on committees or teaching classes.

ALFA Committees

Executive: President, 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer
Nomination: Identify and present potential board members.
Publicity: Distribute brochures, make personal presentations and suggest press releases.
Curriculum: Develop classes and brochures.
Meet & Greet: Oversee orientation and class aides.
Special Events: Arrange group trips.
Food for Thought: Organize four or more speaker programs
ALFA-BITS: Produce the twice-yearly ALFA newsletter.
Shirley Pick Spring Series: Organize a one to three-week program to honor ALFA’s founder.
Remembrance: Send flowers, cards when appropriate.

ALFA Board Members:



*Gail Allo Nominations Committee Chair
*Seth Brody ALFA-Bits Committee Chair
Eric Budd  
Debra Faust- Clancy  
*Carol DeCarolis Publicity Committee Chair
*Emily Fine Food for Thought Committee Chair
Sally Hens  
*Joyce Hinckley President
*Gail Hoar Shirley Pick Series Committee Chair
*Joanne Huse Vice President, Secretary
*Carol Cali Kearns Treasurer
Remembrance/Sunshine Committee Chair
*Linda Kennedy Meet and Greet Committee Chair
Nicholas Langhart  
*Lisa Moison Curriculum Committee Chair
Linda Olson Welcoming Committee Chair
Elaine Page  
Karen Pick  
Harry Semerjian  
*Judy Shaughnessy Special Events Committee Co-Chair
Jean Miller *Emeritus  

The Board of Directors meets Every 2nd Tuesday at 2:30pm. For committee meeting dates, please contact the committee chair.

If you need to connect with a board member, please contact the ALFA office at 978-665-3706.