Skip to main content

Fitchburg State uses technology to gather information and better understand visitors’ experiences. By continuing to use this website, you consent to this usage in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Awards ceremony highlights faculty excellence

Posted 05/31/18

Faculty Awards 2018The University held its second annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence this spring, where faculty members were recognized on achievements of tenure, promotions and retirements. Emeriti faculty were also recognized, and the University’s signature faculty awards were bestowed.

  • Dr. Megan Krell (Behavioral Sciences) was given the Faculty Award for Service.
  • Dr. John Hancock (Behavioral Sciences) received the Contributions to the Graduate Program Award.
  • Dr. Katherine Jewell (Economics, History and Political Science) was presented the Faculty Award for Research and Scholarship.
  • Dr. Elizabeth Walsh (Behavioral Sciences) received the Dr. Vincent J. Mara Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Videos about each of the faculty award recipients may be viewed online.

Tenure Achievement

  • Patricia Arend, Behavioral Sciences
  • Catherine Buell, Mathematics  (and promotion to Associate Professor)
  • Steven Edwards, English Studies
  • Lisa Grimm, Biology/Chemistry (and promotion to Associate Professor)
  • David Heikkinen, Exercise & Sports Science (and promotion to Associate Professor)
  • Katherine Jewell, Economics, History, & Political Science (and promotion to Associate Professor)
  • Mathangi Krishnamurthy, Biology/Chemistry (and promotion to Associate Professor)
  • Denise LaFrance, Education (and promotion to Associate Professor)
  • Monica Maldari, Exercise & Sports Science (and promotion to Associate Professor)
  • Kevin McCarthy, Communications Media
  • Joann Nichols, Education
  • Sean Rollins, Biology/Chemistry
  • Renee Scapparone, Business Administration
  • David Svolba, Humanities
  • Elisabet Takehana, English Studies (and promotion to Associate Professor)


  • Christine Dee, Economics, History & Political Science to Full Professor
  • Daneen Deptula, Psychological Science to Full Professor
  • Stephen Goldstein, Communications Media to Full Professor
  • Michael Zachary Lee, Communications Media to Full Professor
  • David Weiss, Behavioral Sciences to Full Professor
  • Danielle Wigmore, Exercise & Sports Science to Full Professor
  • DeMisty Bellinger-Delfeld, English Studies to Associate Professor
  • Deborah Benes, Nursing to Associate Professor
  • Wendy Keyser, English Studies to Associate Professor
  • Ricky Sethi, Computer Science to Associate Professor

Professor Emeritus

  • Ronald Colbert, Education
  • George Babich, Biology/Chemistry
  • David Antaya, Exercise & Sports Science
  • Maria Jaramillo, Humanities


  • Diane Caggiano, Business Administration
  • Patrice Gray, English Studies
  • Joseph McAloon, Business Administration
  • Richard McElvain, Communications Media
  • Lola Meskauskas, Nursing
  • Ann Mrvica, Communications Media
  • Elizabeth Walsh, Behavioral Sciences

Back to News