Skip to main content

Fitchburg State uses technology to gather information and better understand visitors’ experiences. By continuing to use this website, you consent to this usage in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Meet our Counseling Program Faculty

Daneen Deptula, Ph.D.

Graduate Program Chair, M.S. Counseling

Courses Taught

  • Counseling Theories
  • Psychopathology I: Diagnosis and Assessment

Research Interests/Clinical

Children and adolescent peer relationships, including their role in maintaining and promoting sexual behavior, delinquency, bullying, and optimism

Education

  • B.S., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • M.S., Ph.D., University of Memphis

Email: ddeptula@fitchburgstate.edu

Daneen Deptula

Christopher Adams, Ph.D.

Courses Taught

  • Introduction to Professional Counseling
  • Lifestyle & Career Development
  • Psychopathology II

Research Interests

  • Religious/spiritual issues in counseling
  • College student development
  • Career development
  • Therapist training
  • Supervision and professional development

Clinical Interests

  • Psychodynamic, Humanistic, and Existential therapies
  • Religious and spiritual issues
  • College and career counseling
  • Developmentally-related concerns
  • LGBT issues
  • Couples and family therapy
  • Supervision

Education

  • B.S., Psychology, University of Florida
  • M.A.E., Counselor Education, University of Florida
  • Ed.S., Counselor Education, University of Florida
  • Ph.D., Counseling Psychology, University of Buffalo, SUNY
Email: cadams15@fitchburgstate.edu
Christopher Adams

John Hancock, Ph.D.

Courses Taught

  • Counseling Techniques and Case Analysis
  • Group Work and Leadership in Mental Health Counseling
  • Internship/Practicum Seminar

Education

  • B.S., Ohio Northern University
  • M.A., Assumption College
  • CAGS, Assumption College
  • Ph.D., Professional School of Psychology

Email: jhancock@fitchburgstate.edu

John Hancock

Megan Krell, Ph.D.

Internship/Practicum Coordinator

Courses Taught

  • Practicum in School Counseling
  • Internship in Mental Health Counseling
  • Internship in Counseling
  • Group Work and Leadership in School Counseling
  • Lifespan Development

Research Interests/Clinical

  • Transitions for individuals with disabilities
  • College and career readiness for students with disabilities
  • School counseling and Race to the Top initiatives

Education

  • B.S., Psychology and Humans Services, Northeastern University,
  • M.A., School Counseling, University of Connecticut
  • Ph.D., Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology, University of Connecticut
  • Nationally Certified Counselor
Email: mkrell@fitchburgstate.edu
Megan Krell

Adjunct faculty

Nadyia Abbas-Pech
COUN 8140 Alcohol Abuse and Other Addictions
nabbas@fitchburgstate.edu

Gordon Benson, Ph.D.
COUN 7005 Mental Health and Family Counseling: Professional Practice
gbenson@fitchburgstate.edu

Holly Brockmire
COUN 8100 Child Trauma
hfredette@fitchburgstate.edu

Chandler Creedon, CAGS
COUN 8900 Counseling Techniques and Case Analysis School Counseling
ccreedon@fitchburgstate.edu

Henry Culver, Ed.D.
COUN 7030 Introduction to Professional Counseling
COUN 8625 Crisis Intervention for Counselors
hculver@fitchburgstate.edu

Lynn D'Agostino
COUN 8190 Social/Cultural Foundations
ldagosti@fitchburgstate.edu

Robert Hynes, Ph.D.
Director / Assistant Dean for Student Support Services
COUN 8015 Research and Program Evaluation
COUN 8901 Counseling Techniques and Case Analysis
COUN 8132 Psychopathology II
rhynes@fitchburgstate.edu

Lauren O'Brien
COUN 8130 Psychopathology I
COUN 8901 Counseling Techniques and Case Analysis
lobrie17@fitchburgstate.edu

Helen O'Donnell, Ed.D.
COUN 9085 Practicum in School Counseling
COUN 7000 Legal and Ethical Issues and Professional Practice
hodonne4@fitchburgstate.edu

Margaret O’Hearn Curran, Ph.D.
COUN 8300 Psychological Testing and Assessment: Theory and Practice
mcurran@fitchburgstate.edu

Gail Okerman, M.Ed.
COUN 8900 Counseling Techniques and Case Analysis School Guidance
gokerman@fitchburgstate.edu

Meaghan Pilling
COUN 8700 Group Work and Leadership
mpilling@fitchburgstate.edu

Rebecca Spencer
COUN 8205 Psychology of Learning
COUN 8200 Principles of School Counseling
rspence3@fitchburgstate.edu

Karma Tousignant, CAGS
COUN 8210 College and Career Readiness
ktousign@fitchburgstate.edu

Mark Williams
COUN 8015 Research and Program Evaluation
mwilli63@fitchburgstate.edu