Skip to main content

Meet our Counseling Program Faculty

Daneen Deptula, Ph.D.

Graduate Program Chair, M.S. Counseling

Courses Taught

  • Counseling Theories
  • Psychopathology I: Diagnosis and Assessment

Research Interests/Clinical

Children and adolescent peer relationships, including their role in maintaining and promoting sexual behavior, delinquency, bullying, and optimism

Education

  • B.S., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • M.S., Ph.D., University of Memphis

Email: ddeptula@fitchburgstate.edu

Daneen Deptula

Christopher Adams, Ph.D.

Courses Taught

  • Introduction to Professional Counseling
  • Lifestyle & Career Development
  • Psychopathology II

Research Interests

  • Religious/spiritual issues in counseling
  • College student development
  • Career development
  • Therapist training
  • Supervision and professional development

Clinical Interests

  • Psychodynamic, Humanistic, and Existential therapies
  • Religious and spiritual issues
  • College and career counseling
  • Developmentally-related concerns
  • LGBT issues
  • Couples and family therapy
  • Supervision

Education

  • B.S., Psychology, University of Florida
  • M.A.E., Counselor Education, University of Florida
  • Ed.S., Counselor Education, University of Florida
  • Ph.D., Counseling Psychology, University of Buffalo, SUNY
Email: cadams15@fitchburgstate.edu
Christopher Adams

John Hancock, Ph.D.

Graduate Program Chair, CAGS Interdisciplinary Studies, Counseling/Psychology

Courses Taught

  • Counseling Techniques and Case Analysis
  • Group Work and Leadership in Mental Health Counseling
  • Internship/Practicum Seminar

Education

  • B.S., Ohio Northern University
  • M.A., Assumption College
  • CAGS, Assumption College
  • Ph.D., Professional School of Psychology

Email: jhancock@fitchburgstate.edu

John Hancock

Lynne Kellner, Ph.D.

Courses Taught

  • Internship in School Counseling
  • Internship in Mental Health Counseling
  • Case Analysis and Counseling Techniques
  • Childhood Trauma and its Impact on School Based Services
  • Lifespan Development

Research Interests

  • Child and Adolescent Services
  • Multicultural Competencies in Counseling
  • Interpersonal Violence

Education

  • B.A., City College of New York
  • M.Ed., Counseling Psych, UMass-Amherst
  • Ph.D., Counseling Psych, UMass-Amherst

Email: lkellner@fitchburgstate.edu

Lynne Kellner

Megan Krell, Ph.D.

Internship/Practicum Coordinator

Courses Taught

  • Practicum in School Counseling
  • Internship in Mental Health Counseling
  • Internship in Counseling
  • Group Work and Leadership in School Counseling

Research Interests/Clinical

  • Transitions for individuals with disabilities
  • College and career readiness for students with disabilities
  • School counseling and Race to the Top initiatives

Education

  • B.S., Psychology and Humans Services, Northeastern University,
  • M.A., School Counseling, University of Connecticut
  • Ph.D., Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology, University of Connecticut
  • Nationally Certified Counselor
Email: mkrell@fitchburgstate.edu
Megan Krell

Helen O'Donnell, Ed.D.

School Guidance Program Advisor

Courses Taught

  • Practicum in School Counseling
  • Legal and Ethical Issues and Professional Practice

Research Interests/Clinical

  • Retired school counseling practitioner for 34+ years
  • Dissertation research: From the Eyes of Students: An in-depth study of a 4th grade peer mediation class (included 5-year study of reflective student assessment data and impact assessments by teachers)
  • Core writing team for DESE endorsed MA Model for Comprehensive School Counseling Programs and co-author/trainer for MA Model Institutes
  • Educational Consultant/Trainer
  • MA School Counselors Association: Coordinator of Professional Development, Conferences Chair
  • MASCA State Awards include: President's Awards, Leadership Award, OSCAR award for outstanding service to the profession of school counseling

Education

  • B.A., M.Ed., C.A.G.S., Ed.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • MA licensure in teaching and administration, including school guidance counselor K-12, guidance director
Email: hodonne4@fitchburgstate.edu
Helen O'Donnell

Adjunct faculty

Paul Bail, Ph.D.
PSY 8190 Social & Cultural Foundations: Issues & Diversity
pbail@fitchburgstate.edu

Gordon Benson, Ph.D.
PSY 7005 Mental Health and Family Counseling: Professional Practice
gbenson@fitchburgstate.edu

Judith Bralove, M.S.W.
PSY 8710 Family Systems: Models & Intervention
PSY 8901 Counseling Techniques and Case Analysis – Mental Health
jbralove@fitchburgstate.edu

Jonathan Clayfield, M.A.
PSY 8015 Research and Program Evaluation
jclayfield@fitchburgstate.edu

Chandler Creedon, CAGS
PSY 8010 Issues in Development: Counseling Children and Adolescents
PSY 8200 Principles of Guidance
PSY 8900 Counseling Techniques and Case Analysis School Guidance
ccreedon@fitchburgstate.edu

Henry Culver, Ed.D.
PSY 7030 Introduction to Professional Counseling
hculver@fitchburgstate.edu

Cristina Davy, Ph.D.
PSY 8205 Psychology of Learning: Theory & Practice
cdavy@fitchburgstate.edu

Robert Hynes, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean, Counseling Services
PSY 8015 Research and Program Evaluation
PSY 7010 Counseling Theories
rhynes@fitchburgstate.edu

Margaret O’Hearn Curran, Ph.D.
PSY 8300 Psychological Testing and Assessment: Theory and Practice
mcurran@fitchburgstate.edu

Gail Okerman, M.Ed.
PSY 8900 Counseling Techniques and Case Analysis School Guidance
gokerman@fitchburgstate.edu

Edwin Rosenthal, M.S.
PSY 8140 Alcohol Abuse & Other Addictive Behaviors
erosenth@fitchburgstate.edu

Richard Spencer, Ph.D.
PSY 8300 Psychological Testing and Assessment: Theory and Practice
rspencer@fitchburgstate.edu

Karma Tousignant, CAGS
PSY 8210 Occupational Information & Career Counseling
ktousign@fitchburgstate.edu