Find Your Advisor

Need help choosing a course or program?

Marylyn Gainan advising a student

Fitchburg State University professionals are available to assist you in finding out about the programs offered through Graduate and Continuing Education.

Coordinator of GCE Advising and Support Services

Marylyn GainanMarylyn A. Gainan
Location: Graduate and Continuing Education Office, Anthony Building, Room 112D
Office Hours: Monday-Thursday, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.; Friday, 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Phone: (978) 665-3182
Email: gceadvisor@fitchburgstate.edu

Recruitment and Retention Specialist

Amber DeschenesAmber Deschenes
Location: Graduate and Continuing Education Office, Anthony Building, Room 112F
Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 830 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Phone: (978) 665-3365
Email: gceadvisor@fitchburgstate.edu

Graduate and Undergraduate Program Advisors

If you are an admitted student, the following is a list of the graduate and undergraduate program chairpersons and advisors for each program. They can be reached at (978) 665 plus the extension number listed. Email addresses are included for your convenience.

Graduate Program Chairs

CAGS and M.Ed. in Educational Leadership & Management

Dr. Janna Heiligenstein, X3477
McKay School, Room C151
jheilige@fitchburgstate.edu

Dr. Danette Day, X3695
McKay School, Room C184
dday@fitchburgstate.edu

Brenda Plainte, X3193
McKay School, Room C176
(on-line)
bfancy@fitchburgstate.edu


Thomas Lamey, NISL (National Institute School Leadership) Coordinator
tlamey1@fitchburgstate.edu

M.Ed. in Curriculum and Teaching
Richard Masciarelli, X3501
McKay School, Room B128
(on-campus, Brine, CES, NCSD, Teachers 21)
rmasciar@fitchburgstate.edu

Brenda Plainte, X3193
McKay School, Room C176
(on-line)
bfancy@fitchburgstate.edu

Program Coordinator, Lowell Public Schools
Elizabeth Lavin
elavin@fitchburgstate.edu

Program Coordinator, MAVA
Dr. Elaine Francis, X3501
efrancis@fitchburgstate.edu

Program Coordinator, ACE MV (Martha's Vineyard)
Dr. Annette Sullivan, X3717
asulli15@fitchburgstate.edu

M.S. in Applied Communication
Dr. Viera Lorencova X4856
Conlon Industrial, Room 324
vlorencova@fitchburgstate.edu
CAGS in Interdisciplinary Studies
Dr. Jessica Robey, X3386
Conlon Fine Arts, Room 216
jrobey@fitchburgstate.edu
(Individualized Concentration)

Dr. Viera Lorencova X4856
Conlon Industrial, Room 324
vlorencova@fitchburgstate.edu
(Applied Communications)

Dr. John Hancock, X3604
Percival, Room 104A
jhancock@fitchburgstate.edu
(Counseling/Psychology Concentration)

Dr. Ruth Joseph X3899
McKay School, Room C176D
rjoseph@fitchburgstate.edu
(Reading Specialist Concentration)
M.Ed. in Early Childhood
Lyndsey Benharris, X3539
McKay School, Room C174
lbenharr@fitchburgstate.edu


M.Ed. in Elementary/Middle School Education
Dr. William Cortezia, X3489
Chair for Elementary, and Middle School Education
McKay School, Room C138C
wcortezi@fitchburgstate.edu

Dr. Ian Bothwell, Advisor for Elementary and Middle School Education
ibothwel@fitchburgstate.edu
M.S. in Computer Science
Data Science Graduate Certificate
Dr. Brady Chen X3434
Edgerly, Room 310B
xchen@fitchburgstate.edu
M.A./M.A.T. in Biology
Dr. Lisa Grimm, X3334
Condike Science, Room 231
lgrimm1@fitchburgstate.edu
M.Ed. in Occupational Education
Dr. James Alicata, X3047
Conlon Arts, Room 209A
jalicata@fitchburgstate.edu

Robert Packard, Program Coordinator, MAVA (Massachusetts Association of Vocational Administrators)
rpackard@jpkeefehs.org
M.S. in Counseling
Dr. Daneen Deptula, X3603
Percival, Room B07A
ddeptula@fitchburgstate.edu
(Mental Health Counseling/School Guidance Counseling)
M.A./M.A.T. in English
Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in English
Dr. Chola Chisunka, X3445
Miller, Room 201A
cchisunka@fitchburgstate.edu
M.Ed. in Science Education
Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Biology
Dr. Lisa Grimm, X3334
Condike Science, Room 231
lgrimm1@fitchburgstate.edu
M.S. in Nursing (Forensic)
Forensic Nursing Graduate Certificate
Dr. Deborah Stone, X3426
Thompson, Room 324B
dstone1@fitchburgstate.edu
M.A./M.A.T. in History
Dr. Daniel Sarefield, X4804
Miller, Room 313
dsarefield@fitchburgstate.edu
M.Ed. in Technology Education
Post-Baccalaureate
Certificate in Technology/Engineering Education (Initial Licensure, 5-12)
Dr. Wayne Whitfield, X4807
Conlon Industrial Arts, Room 205
wwhitfield@fitchburgstate.edu
M.Ed. in Arts Education
Fine Arts Director Certificate
Petri Flint, X3461
Conlon Fine Arts, Room 333
pflint@fitchburgstate.edu

MBA
Joseph McAloon, X3745
Sanders 104-J
jmcaloon@fitchburgstate.edu

Dr. Beverley Hollingsworth, X3567
Sanders 104-D
bholling@fitchburgstate.edu
(Advisor, Online MBA)

Dr. Audrey Pereira, X3213
Sanders 104-V
apereir2@fitchburgstate.edu
(Advisor, Online MBA)

M.Ed. in Special Education
Dr. Anne Howard, X3309
McKay School, Room C178
anhoward@fitchburgstate.edu
(Severe Disabilities, Guided
Studies Program, Dyslexia Specialist)

Dr. Nancy L. Murray, X3770
McKay School, Room C176D
nmurray5@fitchburgstate.edu
(Moderate Disabilities)

Ann Hogan, X3233
ahogan@fitchburgstate.edu
(Moderate Disabilities)

Dr. Ruth Joseph, X3899
McKay School, Room C176D
rjoseph@fitchburgstate.edu
(M. Ed. Reading Specialist, Reading Specialist Graduate Certificate)

Not-for-Profit Management Graduate Certificate Program
Dr. Christine Shane, X3242
Percival, Room B02
cshane@fitchburgstate.edu
Behavior Analyst Graduate Certificate
Dr. Robert Shapiro, X3511
McKay School, Room C190
rshapir3@fitchburgstate.edu
Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Mathematics
Dr. Jennifer Berg X3787
Edgerly, Room 301C
jberg5@fitchburgstate.edu
 

Undergraduate Program Managers

B.S. in Business Administration
Business Certificate
Dr. Renee Scapparone X3526
Sanders, 104-D
rscappar@fitchburgstate.edu
Online RN to BS in Nursing
Sarah Blood, X3028
Thompson Hall, 205
sblood1@fitchburgstate.edu
LPN to BS in Nursing Bridge Program
Sarah Blood, X3028
Thompson Hall, 205
sblood1@fitchburgstate.edu
B.A./B.S. in Interdisciplinary Studies
Dr. Jessica Robey, X3386
Conlon Fine Arts, Room 216
jrobey@fitchburgstate.edu
B.S. in Occupational/ Vocational Ed. Vocational Teacher Approval Certificate
Dr. James Alicata, X3047
Conlon Industrial Arts, Room 209A
jalicata@fitchburgstate.edu
Certificate in Plastics Technology
(Jabil Plastics Technology Learning Center)
Dr. Stanley Bucholc, X3287
sbucholc@fitchburgstate.edu
B.S. in Early Childhood Education (non-licensure)
Lyndsey Benharris, X3539
McKay School, Room C174
lbenharr@fitchburgstate.edu

Contact Us

gce@fitchburgstate.edu
(978) 665-3182
Anthony, Room 112
Office hours:
Monday - Thursday, 8 am to 6 pm
Friday, 8 am to 5 pm